top of page

Writing journal Aug 28 2015

Writing journal. Entry of August 28, 2015.

My struggles with writing don’t start like this, but this journal about my struggles with writing does.

I was reading some of John Scalzi’s books. I no longer remember how I came across this writer but given that I am an avid SciFi reader since my early teens, there are probably many explanations of the fact. I was annoyed when I came across his name; it always happens that I become annoyed with myself when I come across a new SciFi writer – I feel I am not the avid SciFi reader I believe I am – which is clearly nonsense, as I cannot know all the new writers that pop up in the SciFi universe. But it is annoying, and perhaps a sign of my aging or of how much work I have, that this happens more and more often these days; I hardly know anyone younger than Gibson.

I think I first read Red Shirts and then Locked In; and then, Amazon, in its infinite, scary knowledge of my taste, recommended the Old Man’s War trilogy. As I browse to buy it, my annoyance increased and now with good reason: although I read a fair share of Robert Heinlein, I did not read Starship Troopers nor I had ever heard of The Forever War and its author, Joe Haldeman. So I bought this last book and the trilogy. As I read them, tragedy fell upon my extended family. I can’t tell whether this tragedy or these warlike books are to blame for my urges to write again. Likely, both are.

To John Scalzi, I would say, ‘thanks for introducing me to warlike SciFi,’ not that I ever want to write a story like that… and ‘my wife rocks too.’

So I decided it to write again. In my work, I often come across the question, ‘what makes a mathematician.’ I wonder now if writing makes me a writer; but the truth is, although I deeply cared for this question in the past, I don’t anymore. I just want (or need) to write and I enjoy it when I do it, or when I think about doing it. I got a few books about writing and I am devouring them, reading in a way I never read before; in the sense we eat and then we beget, as Emerson wrote, so comes my reading before my writing.

I got myself a corner of the house, with a desk; I can see the windows and plants and bookcases. In the corner I feel like in a trench; alone but attentive, listening. I got myself a notebook, to write down ideas, urges, words. It is my version of ‘a room of one’s own.’

When I was a teenager, I wanted to be a writer and I took what I thought was some proactive action in that direction. I started a career in literature and philosophy. It turned out to be a bad idea – or maybe I was not ready to make the leap that writing seems to require: the incommensurable leap between imagining writing and writing. I am ready now; I am writing.


Categories
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Archive
Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page